Hurry Up and Wait

The focus has shifted this past week - I’ve been caught up in financial consulting work more so than anything agricultural, but there’s still plenty to talk about - let’s get into it!

From the field:

Well, now we're starting to get into the mechanics of the ag business. And this is where I feel a little bit out of my depth. But I'm going to figure it out, just like I've had to figure out everything else to this point.

I have a meeting with a seed/chemical salesman on Monday where we're going to talk about the logistics of how to get the fungicide into the drone and onto the field. This means that I have to understand at least somewhat what my trailer is going to look like.

Here's what I do know - the trailer is going to be two-tiered. I have to be able to keep a line of sight on the drone at all times, and there has to be a path to network connectivity between the remote and the drone otherwise we're going to have problems. I'll have at least two tanks on the bottom tier - they'll each be 300+ gallons.

The plumbing of it all is where I get a little bit confused. I've done one plumbing project in my life, and it ended with our water being shut off overnight. So the track record isn't really there. Might just have to pay someone else to do it that knows what the heck they're doing.

Hopefully one of these next editions of the newsletter I'll have some positive news on funding for this whole operation. It's in process right now, and I hope that the process is complete sooner than later so I can make all the purchases I need to make!

From the office:

Remember this from the last installment?

A very recent development that I'm waiting for a response on is a short-term engagement for a local company. I had a recruiter call me the other day asking if I'd be open to a short-term engagement that'd last up through June. That's about perfect as far as I'm concerned. I sent my resume on Monday, and e-signed some documents today. Next step will be to actually talk to the client and see if it's a fit!

It wasn't a fit. The client went with someone far cheaper. You get what you pay for, as far as I'm concerned!

However, I do believe this connection is going to be fruitful. I let the recruiter know that she could send opportunities my way in Q1, Q2, and Q4, just leave me alone in Q3 so I can do my ag work! The win here is that I really didn't even understand this avenue could be a possibility a couple weeks ago. Every time a recruiter had reached out since I left my full time employment, I let them know I had started my own consulting company, and then I never heard back from them.

In the meantime, a steady stream of Upwork work has kept me relatively busy. Not 40 hours a week busy, but inching my way closer to that number.

What I'm reading:

Still reading In a Pit With a Lion On a Snowy Day. Try this excerpt on for size:

Scaredy-cats are filled with fear because their God is so small. Lion chasers know that their best thought about God on their best day falls infinitely short of how great God really is.

- Mark Batterson

Thanks for hanging in - until next week!

Join the conversation

or to participate.