On The Road Again

Issue #4 of the newsletter. Continuing to build both businesses, and I'd say that both are building slower than I want them to. This will likely be a chronic problem, as patience isn't my strong suit when it comes to these endeavors.

From the field:

If all is currently going well, this newsletter is coming to you literally "from the field". I'm back in the Eastern part of the state meeting with farmers, doing everything I can to get a firm commitment from some of the guys who have shown interest to date.

In addition, I'm hoping to meet with farmers I've not yet talked to. This one is interesting - I absolutely don't want to do this. Walking up to a complete stranger on his property doesn't sound like my idea of a good time. But I think I'd have a hard time coming home and looking my son in the eye if I didn't do the thing that scares me a little bit.

I'll elaborate.

This past weekend he had a wrestling tournament. There are four classifications you can register the kid with: beginner, average, good, excellent. I registered him as "average". Unfortunately for all of us, he got put in a 4 person bracket that included 2 excellent and 1 good wrestler. He lost his first match 13-2, and came off the mat in tears. He was aware of his next two opponents and how good they were, so we all assumed more pain and suffering was on the way. We weren't wrong about that, but the kid pulled himself together for both of the next two matches and gave it everything he had.

So what kind of dad would I be if I decided not to push through a little bit of fear? That'd give him a perfect excuse to run from his fear the next time he's in that kind of situation.

From the office:

Remember the Upwork intro you got from me last week? There's a developing situation - I'm down to a final two to be a construction company's fractional CFO. I had a meeting with the CEO of the company on Thursday of last week, and he told me he's deciding between myself and one other person for the services. If I really want to push it, I'd need somewhere between 5 and 10 of these clients to have a sufficient book of business. I already have 1, so we're slowly chipping away over here.

And I've had the opportunity to talk with another old high school friend this past week about helping his operation. Don't know if the scope of what I'll be doing will amount to as much work as the other 2 clients, but it's one more step in the right direction.

What I'm reading:

I'm starting to read industry-specific newsletters so that I can stay up on current events both in the financial world and the agricultural world. In future issues of the newsletter, I may feature some of these if I think all of you might enjoy reading them.

Thanks for hanging in - until next week!

Join the conversation

or to participate.