Taking Shape

The plans are really starting to take shape, let's get into it!

From the field:

Trailer, and fabrication. That's the name of the game right now. Plans are firming up - I'm heading out to look at a couple trailer options on Friday, and will have no problem pulling the trigger on a purchase if one of them is the right fit. In addition, I've placed a couple different calls to companies in the hopes that they'll be able to take on my project, and in the timeline that I need. One location is going to get back to me by the end of the week with confirmation after they talk through it.

Knocking these two items off the list would be a huge weight off my shoulders. The drones are already sitting in a warehouse waiting for me to pick them up, so we're getting there!

Next up will be figuring out water/chemical tanks, the plumbing of all that, etc.

The future content of this section is going to include a lot more pictures/videos. You'll be able to follow along with the progress that's being made in more than just a written word. And it'll force me to continue documenting things - as you know, it's never been my strong suit. One of my strategies to circumvent that weakness was to marry a photographer, but now I need to start doing my part.

From the office:

A dilemma I've recently found myself in is trying to give everyone the prioritization they deserve. I want to feel like I'm "part of the team" with everyone I'm working for, but that's proving difficult when everyone asks for something at the same time. In my corporate career, I could always just go to my boss and ask him/her what they feel is the most important thing right now, and then I'd adjust accordingly. Can't do that anymore, so I have to take my best guess and roll with it.

Another question is: when I signed on with my main Upwork client, it was for a rate that's quite a bit less than I charge a typical client. It was a simple project related to their budget, pretty high-level in nature, they just needed something done quickly. But then all of a sudden I'm basically one of their finance team members, and getting 20+ hours of work a week from them. However, it's at the same rate as before. When is it appropriate to revisit that rate? Do I run the risk of losing that chunk of work if I do that? Some money is better than no money, but as you may have figured out, I'm very willing to take financial risks. Wouldn't ski down more than the bunny hills, but for whatever reason, I view money differently. So far that mentality hasn't made us homeless, but I'll keep you posted on whether that changes.

What I'm reading:

Alright, I’ll be honest here - I've been reading a lot about the final four run of the Iowa women's basketball team.

But in addition to that, I've been doing some research on how to value a business for sale. As part of one of my recent engagements I mentioned in the last installment, we had to determine what a reasonable offer would be to submit for buying a business. Here's what I'm learning. Every industry is different, and every industry uses different benchmarks. And then you throw in the emotions of the people involved, and it becomes very cloudy. Also, are you buying it for what it is now, or what it could be in the future? Lots to take into consideration!

Thanks for hanging in - until next week!

Join the conversation

or to participate.