Time To Fly

Boxes are being checked. Let’s get into it!

From the field:

The trailer estimate is in! It's probably a bit higher than if I just picked someone off the street who does this type of work in their spare time, but I'm willing to pay it because it's an actual manufacturing company who can turn it around rather quickly once they make the project a priority. My understanding is that the timeline is going to be early June for completion, and then my work will really begin.

Here are some of the items that'll need to be done once the trailer is built out:

• Putting some layer of protection on the steel frame, whether it's a powder coat or something else.

• Anchoring all of the accessories, including:

○ Water Tank (may have an option available to me)

○ Generators

○ Chemical mixing tank (still need to buy it)

○ Hose reel/hose

○ Plumbing

○ Drone containers

I scheduled a time to get registration/title/tags for the trailer today, but the next available appointment was 20 calendar days from now! Which means I’m delinquent and will have to pay a penalty. With how expensive everything is, I was bracing myself for hundreds of dollars. Turns out it’s a whopping $15 of penalties. I don’t have to shut down my entire operation as a result of this - whew!

Drone training on Saturday, and both of my guys are going to be there to learn as well. This means that Friday night I'll have to detach the basement door and lift a drone out into the truck. That's right, the drone was too big to fit through a doorway that had a door attached to it.

From the office:

Remember when I mentioned last week that it's going to be a bare minimum type run into spraying season? Can confirm this is still the case. This week it had less to do with me, however. The work just dried up a little bit due to the timing of the month, and I do anticipate I'll be able to get back into some more office work here in the next week. In the life of a finance guy, usually the first week or so of the month is reserved for accounting to do a bunch of their work. Eventually there will be enough data available for finance to come in and do some analysis on it.

What I'm reading:

This doesn't have a lot to do with either of the businesses, but over the past few days I've picked up a book that I never fully read. It's called "Switch On Your Brain", by Dr Caroline Leaf. It teaches on the concept of neuroplasticity, which is the study of proving out the brain is malleable, and can change depending on how you think. I'm a bit of an overthinker, and sometimes that comes back to bite me as I'll get stuck in a loop where I keep thinking about the same thing over and over again. Most of the time I'll find that it's negative thinking, and that can affect not only the brain, but the rest of the physical body as well!

Thanks for hanging in - until next week!

Join the conversation

or to participate.